Lovely Madeline Lemon Cakes! ~ recipe

Okay.

I’ve never really posted recipes before, but I’ve recently developed an intense interest in baking and, quite honestly, I’m obsessed with it.

Those who’ve tried my food in person, however, must be extremely afraid to read this recipe, let alone try it out. But-believe me, this time I made something! And it worked! And not only did it work, it tasted a-ma-zing.

Yesterday, I made these (decent) healthy oatmeal carrot cake cookies. They came out a little dry, so I’m not going to post the recipe.

Rule #1: don’t post anything unless you’re absolutely in love with it, unless you feel otherwise called.

Anywho, let’s get on with the recipe.

This is a recipe I basically created myself. I took the ingredients from another recipe, and created my own ratios.

The consistency turned out a little Madeline-like, which I personally love. I wasn’t aiming for it, but I achieved it, so I guess I can call them Madeline cakes!

In addition to tasty, they are also healthier than normal cakes or Madelines.

Here’s my recipe. I hope you enjoy!

lemon-cakes-1

~ Lovely Madeline Lemon Cakes ~

by Kayley Hope

Ingredients:

for the cake

• 2/3 cup all purpose flour

 

• 1/8 tsp salt

• 1/4 tsp cinnamon

• 1/6 cup granulated sugar

• 1/4 tsp baking powder

• 1/8 tsp baking soda

• 1/3 cup melted unsalted butter

• 1 large egg

•  1/3 cup sunflower oil

• juice + pulp of one lemon

• 1 drop lemon essential oil (optional, but highly recommended.)

• 1/3 cup real maple syrup

 

for the glaze

• 1/8 cup confectionery sugar

• 1 splash maple syrup

• 2 drops lemon oil

• 1 tbsp butter

 

equipment

• small bowl

• medium bowl

• small sauce pan

• whisk or fork (or both)

• measuring spoons + cups

• muffin tray

 

 

How to:

Preheat the oven to 325ºF. Spray the muffin tin lightly with olive oil or grease lightly with non-stick cooking spray (or butter).

In a medium bowl, whisk together your dry ingredients (flour, salt, cinnamon, sugar, baking powder, baking soda). Set aside.

Melt the butter and let cool, while retaining liquid form.

In a small bowl, whisk together your wet ingredients (egg, sunflower oil, lemon juice, lemon pulp, butter, lemon oil, and maple syrup). Whisk until fully combined, or as much as it can be combined.

Pour wet mixture into dry mixture slowly whilst stirring. Mix until smooth.*

*note: your batter should look a little bit like dough, but still like a batter. Weird, right?

Scoop the batter into the muffin tin, filling each cup 1/2 the way. Put into the oven for 15 minutes to bake, until golden-brown around the edges, or until non-batter-y in the center.

 

To make the glaze, place a small sauce pan on the stove and turn to 3/10 heat, or low heat. Simmer will also work, but will take more time.

Add in butter. When the butter is melted, add in the confectionery sugar, maple syrup, and lemon essential oil. Stir for 2-4 minutes. Bring to a simmer or lower heat.*

*note: Keep an eye on your glaze and watch it like a hawk, or it could overcook and become too thick, or burn and ruin your pan! Also, try to keep it warm. It’s easier to spoon over the madeline cakes this way.

 

Pull the Madeline cakes from the oven when finished. Put a sheet tray over top of the muffin pan, hold together tightly, and flip! Set the madeline cakes on a cake rack.*

*note: if necessary, or if you just want to be extra-efficient, gently cut around the cakes in the muffin pan with a butter knife. This will make sure they don’t stick, and easier for them to come out of the pan.

You don’t have to cool your cakes, but you can if you want to.

Drizzle a generous amount of glaze over your madeline cakes and let the glaze cool.*

*note: you’re going to have to work fast with the glaze, or keep it heated while it’s in the pan. It will get thick and jelly-like quickly in the pan if you let it cool.

Smile, and enjoy! 😀 ☺ ♥♥

 

I hope you liked my recipe.

Be sure to stay tuned for more!

Thank you guys so much for your support!

Have an awesome week.

-K. Hope W.

 

 

