Fasting

My stuffed tiger is really important to me.

Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature: sexual immorality, impurity, lust, evil desires and greed, which is idolatry. (‭Colossians‬ ‭3‬:‭5‬ NIV)

Her name is Tigey (pronounced tie•ghee•). God recently challenged me to give her up for 21 days. Crazy, huh? I cannot usually sleep easily without her. When I get worked up, I sniff her head and I calm down. I love Tigey.

But, a crazy thing moved me. I could die tomorrow and lose everything I have, including Tigey. Woah. Deep, right?

I still love Tigey, but God has really called me to take a leap of faith in this 21-day Tiger fast. Sure, it sounds silly that such a little, dingy thing is important to me, but it’s true! I found myself putting Tigey on a pedestal.

That’s idolatry.

Whatever your doing, stop. Seriously, stop. Drop every pen, marer, TV remote, magazine, or whatever it is you love. God is supposed to come first! God always comes first!

Sisters, wether it is food, a guy, a stuffed tiger, or anything else; if it’s not Jesus, fast from it! May God always be with you in your fasts and draw closer to Him! He loves you.

Sincerely, Faithfully, Truthfully,

💛 Hope 💛

One thought on “Fasting

Comments are closed.